Letters from Mommy

Dear Eryn,

Hi, my sweet girl! I should’ve started writing these letters right after you were born, but as you won’t recall, we had a crazy first few weeks with you, so I’m just now getting to it! But as these days are passing so quickly, I want to capture whatever I can to share with you later (and for me to cry over when I read them throughout the years – yeah, believe it or not, your mom’s a bit of a softie J) .

 

It’s almost Christmas, so we’re currently in the throes of preparation – your daddy is upstairs wrapping our gifts (yay!), most likely taking forever on each one and using waaaay too much tape. He needs an intervention for his overuse of tape while wrapping. It’s an endearing quality, but it means we never have any tape in the house! You’re currently lying next to me on the couch, kicking your legs, talking up a storm, and spitting out your binkie so I’ll have to put it back in. This is your favorite game – watch me spit out my binkie and make Mommy and Daddy race to put it back in! It really is quite cute until you spit it onto the floor, which means we have to find it, wash it, and get it back in your mouth before you have a meltdown. You don’t know this yet, but you’ll be getting a binkie leash in your Christmas stocking! At least it’ll stop the binkie from falling on the floor amidst the dog hair.

 

Last week you had a bit of a growth spurt, so you were very hungry and very fussy – always wanting to be held, and you wanted me to walk around the house constantly. You didn’t like it when I sat down. Needless to say, I was happy at the end of the day when Daddy came home and could walk with you for awhile! Even though you’re only seven pounds, you get a little heavy after awhile! And you wanted to eat every 2.5 hours instead of every 3-3.5 hours, which was rather demanding (though I was happy to oblige, of course). But the growth spurt did the trick – you went from weighing 6 lbs 15.3 oz on Monday, Dec. 12 to weighing 7 lb, 8 oz one week later! When you’re a teenager, I’m sure you won’t be happy about gaining weight, but right now, Little Miss Petite, it’s a good thing! You’re still swimming in your newborn clothes, and you’re almost seven weeks old! You’re just as sweet as you can be though – you’ve started smiling and cooing a lot, and you try to mimic our facial expressions, which is adorable! But to see you smile – oh, it just melts my heart! You’re just so precious to me and your daddy! Our baby girl. We love you so much!

 

Love,

Mommy

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Angie
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 02:31:55

    What a great idea for your blog! I know that Eryn will really appreciate this in the years to come!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

