Making progress…..

So time marches on…and we’re making progress on baby stuff!  I’ll be 26 weeks on Wednesday, and things are going great.  I had my 24 week appointment a few weeks ago, this time with one of the OBs in my midwife’s practice (they rotate at the 24 week appt so you have a chance to meet at least one of the OBs in case you have a c-section).  He was very nice and said she’s looking great!  I did have an ultrasound, but it was pretty short – they just checked her spine and face to make sure there weren’t any abnormalities (they’d normally do all this at the 20 week ultrasound, but she didn’t cooperate 🙂 ).  Still haven’t gained any weight, but she has – she weights over a pound now!  According to my BabyCenter emails, she’s about the size of an eggplant now.  I feel her move pretty regularly now, especially after I eat or when I lie down at night (though she hasn’t woken me up yet).  Bennett hasn’t been able to feel her move yet, but I’m sure it’ll happen soon!

 

The nursery is coming along…..we cleaned out the office over the July 4th weekend and got everything ready to move upstairs.  Our friend Matt Dorman, who owns a moving company, came that Friday, and he and his guys moved everything for us (and rearranged a bunch of furniture upstairs), and he brought my childhood furniture down from Mom’s house.  It was Mom’s furniture when she was a little girl, so it has some history!  Here are some pics:

The hutch and chest - and our owl collection

The hutch and chest - and our owl collection

Dresser

Dresser

 

I’ve always loved this furniture, and I’m so glad we get to use it!  Thanks, Mom!  😀

We ordered the crib from Wal-Mart about a week ago.  They had the exact same crib at Amazon, Wal-Mart, Target, and Babies R Us, and Wal-Mart was the cheapest, so we went with that (though I usually hate dealing w/ Wal-Mart).  But we used their Ship to Store service, so we were able to pick it up and save the shipping fees, which saved about $40.  We got it put together today – it was surprisingly easy!  I think it looks wonderful!  Bennett did a great job – I helped by holding the pieces in place, but he did most of the work.  Holly helped, of course – she’s a great supervisor!

The crib!

The crib!

Detail on the back of the crib - it matches the back of the hutch and our doors perfectly!

Detail on the back of the crib - it matches the back of the hutch and our doors perfectly!

Holly checking out the nursery - she loves it in here!

Holly checking out the nursery - she loves it in here!

 

I hope to figure out all the bedding stuff this week so we can get it ordered.  Mom’s going to lend her design expertise – I’m just not good at colors and stuff, but she is.  The company is called Carousel Designs, and it’s based in Douglasville, GA, so it’s nice that they’re right up the road.  They do custom bedding, so I’m trying to decide which fabrics we like and in what combination.  We’re going to go with just the dust ruffle and some drapes – everything I’ve read about bumpers seem to suggest that there’s never a “safe” time to use them.  When they’re tiny, they’re a suffocation risk, and when they start to stand, you have to remove them so they don’t use the bumpers to climb out of the crib.  So I’m just not going to spend the money on something that we won’t use most of the time!  But here’s the link to see the fabrics and stuff.

Girly Owl Crib Bedding

Here’s the glider we’re interested in:

Best Chairs – April Swivel Glider

We’re picking out paint, too, so hopefully we’ll be able to get the nursery painted before we get too much stuff in it!

 

We have some wonderful friends who have blessed us with tons of baby clothes – they’re all so adorable! I can’t wait for her to wear them!  Here are some pics:

Bennet helping to sort all the clothes!

Bennet helping to sort all the clothes!

0-6 month clothes

0-6 month clothes

9 month clothes

9 month clothes

12 month clothes

12 month clothes

18+ month clothes

18+ month clothes

 

I’ve picked up a few things myself, too – though I’m trying to control myself! 😀

Got these from a local kids' consignment shop - the one on the right is the world's cutest swimsuit!

Adorable spring outfit I bought at a friend's Shrimp and Grits party!

Heading to the beach with the rest of the Hippses next week – can’t wait!  Looking forward to some time off and to just relax.  Next year’s trip will be quite different!

 

Thanks for checking in!  We’ll post another update soon.  Love to all!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. angiehipps
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 21:00:54

    I will totally come and rock my niece often if you guys get that chair! It looks incredibly comfortable and stylish. It is wonderful that you have received so many awesome hand-me-downs. I love the nursery furniture, and I can’t wait to see it all decorated up. I am also really looking forward to our time at the beach!

    Reply

  2. Angie Wilson Rogers
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 02:58:35

    Love the nursery! Looks like you are all set for clothes for the first year, lol! So, maybe books to read during the 2-4 range would be a good gift? Anna and Matthew loved, loved, loved their little books! I mean, they had them memorized so they would “read” them on their own as soon as they knew that many words. (Didn’t take them long since I talked to them all the time… well, you know how I did my baby talk deal with Matthew at least… it worked!)

    Reply

  3. Lynley
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 03:41:41

    Angie H., we ordered the chair today, thanks to our fantastic in-laws! I’m so excited – it’s going to be in a pale yellow, and I think it’ll look great! Now I just want it to hurry up and come in! And our little girl will certainly need her only aunt (and I’ll certainly need you, too!), so you’re welcome anytime! Can’t wait to see y’all this weekend!!

    Angie R., you know I’m all about the books – they’re my de facto gift to all my friends’ kids, too! I did the same thing with my books – I remember making my mom call my grandparents to come over so I could read them my first book, “Good Morning, Chick,” complete with sound effects of barnyard animals. I totally think I was really reading it, but I think Mom thinks I just had it memorized! ;0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

